Forum: A Conversation with Ada County Commissioner Candidates
Thursday, October 4th, 2018, 11:45am-1:15pm
The Grove Hotel, Ballroom 2nd floor
Kendra Kenyon, Diana Lachiondo, Jim Tibbs, Sharon M. Ullman


Join City Club members and guests to get to know the candidates for Ada County Commissioner.


The Board of Ada County Commissioners oversees the operation of 11 individual Ada County departments, and the wide variety of services those departments deliver to county residents. The Commission also reviews and approves all department and county elected office budgets, and sets tax levy rates as requested by the 45 plus separate taxing districts within the county. Additionally, the Commission governs all unincorporated areas of Ada County, adopts county ordinances, and makes decisions pertaining to land-use planning and development activities, often holding public hearings on such matters.


On November 6th, voters will elect 2 commissioners, one for a 2 year term, and the other for a 4 year term. Join us and ask your questions of these candidates.


Moderator: Greg Hahn


Lunch Cost:             

  $20 City Club members              

  $27 general public            

  $10 students

Listen only: $5 (available in advance or at the door)


Reserved table for 10: $350


Audio Recording


Candidate Bio's


Kendra Kenyon is an Idaho native and 40-year resident of Ada Count. Her time in Ada County has been filled with varied professional experiences that have formed a unique perspective on the county and the issues facing it. Kendra's formal education and extensive experience prepared her to understand and manage large complex organizational systems and to provide the training and motivation necessary to lead Ada County in this time of tremendous growth and change. As a business owner, mother, educator and conservationist she understand what it takes to keep Ada County healthy and prosperous.


Diana Lachiondo is a fourth-generation Idahoan, working mother of two, proven problem-solver, and the Democratic candidate for Ada County Commissioner, D1.

Idaho born-and-raised, Diana’s grandfather came to Boise from the Basque country as a teenager and—though he had nothing—was able to build a life, successful business, and family here. That family carries his work ethic and passion for this community today.

In her nearly five years as director of community partnerships for the City of Boise, her focus has been on children, veterans, housing, those experiencing homelessness, refugees, elderly, and bringing community leaders together to tackle our toughest challenges. It was this work that inspired Diana to seek public office for the first time.


Jim Tibbs has served on the Ada County Commission since January 2013.  Jim has spent more than 40 years in public service, and is a 34-year veteran of the Boise Police Department, a former member of the Boise City Council, former Investigator for Canyon County, and previously served as the Idaho’s first Drug Czar, as well as Chairman of the State of Idaho Board of Corrections.  Additionally, Jim served in the Idaho National Guard, from which he was honorably discharged after experiencing a serious injury during training.  Jim is a proven leader, having served most of his years in public service in management and leadership roles.


Sharon Ullman secured the Republican nomination for Ada County commissioner in District 3.  Ullman said her top priority if she wins the general election in November is to cut the county’s “wasteful spending.”


Special Thanks to our Forum Sponsor First Interstate Bank.

Chair: Julia Rundberg
Moderator: Greg Hahn